The Supreme Council of Antiquities has begun restoration work on Prince Sheikho’s Sabil in Al-Hattaba, adjacent to Salah El-Din Citadel.
Dr. Osama Talaat, head of the Islamic, Coptic and Jewish Antiquities Sector at the Supreme Council of Antiquities, explained that the restoration work included the mechanical cleaning of the sabil's façade stones. And the inscriptions and decorations in them were shown, and modern encroachments were removed on both sides of it, and an iron fence was placed to protect it. Works are still continuing until the completion of the restoration project soon.
Talaat described Sabil Sheikho as the unique effect among the rest of the Sabilah, given that it is the only model engraved in the rock on the edge of the hill on which the Citadel of Salah al-Din is built, and it is also one of the rare examples in the style of the separate sabel that is not attached to a mosque, school, gorge, or religious or civil facility. One rectangular façade overlooks Bab Al-Wada Street, in the center of which is a hollow apse with five pointed arches in one row, and in the middle of this apse is the entrance opening to the sabil, where it leads to two rooms following one of the other. The sea of arches on the main façade, followed by an inscription band decorating the façade of the sabil, in addition to the inscriptions and the blazon (insignia) of Prince Sheikho.
It is worth noting that the Sabil was built by Prince Sheikho al-Omari al-Nasiri in 775 AH / 1354 CE. Prince Sheikho is the great prince Saif al-Din Sheikh al-Omari al-Nasiri (relative to Sultan al-Nasir Muhammad ibn Qalawun), who was included in the functions of the state until he reached a great position during the reign of Al-Muzaffar Haji Ibn Al-Nasser Muhammad.